How we bill

Updated 1 month ago by Andrew White

When signing up for Spoke, you will select a pricing plan (i.e. Starter, Standard or Plus) and a billing period (i.e. monthly or annual)



Monthly Plan - clients will be billed based on the number of invited users from the previous billing period. 

Annual Plan - Clients will be billed based on the expected number of users for the upcoming year.

 Customers may also be billed for overages in accordance with this policy. The pricing plan you select and the number of users you invite will determine the fees that you will be charged after your free trial ends. Our minimum monthly rate is $50.

How are invoices calculated?

On Day 1 of the upcoming billing period, an invoice will be generated based on the total number of invited users you have and your chosen pricing plan for that full billing period.

Each invoice may also include a section for overage fees. Overages fees will be charged if you added users during the previous billing period. For annual plans, this overage is charged if you added users above the pre-paid quantity.

Users added during the previous billing period will be charged based on the pricing plan you have in place at the time the new users were added. If you deleted users during the previous billing period, you won't be charged for them in the next billing period (you can see an example of this below FAQ - I deleted 10 users, what happens next?).

Here's a quick example:

  • During your trial, you selected the Standard Plan ($2 per user per month) and had 100 invited users. On the first day after your trial expires, you will receive an invoice for $200 to cover Month 2 (100 users at $2 each).
  • During Month 2, you added 50 users. On the first day of Month 3, you will receive an invoice for $300 (150 users at $2 each) to cover Month 3, as well as an overage fee of $100 to cover the added users in Month 2 (50 added users at $2 each).

Annual contracts

We support annual contracts (just reach out to us support@askspoke.com, or via the live chat on this page). Annual contracts allow you to pre-pay for an estimated set of invited users for the upcoming 12-month period. You will receive a 20% discount from our monthly plan rates for those users. Your minimum fees for the year will be based on the estimated set of invited users, regardless of whether have that many invited users.

Any additional users over the estimated set of invited users  are charged at the monthly rate in the manner described above. We’ll send you a monthly “overages” invoice as appropriate.

Annual contracts renew automatically 12 months after the last day of your free trial, unless you cancel or we agree on new terms. At that time, the terms of your contract will be renewed at the estimated set of invited users you selected the prior year, or, your actual invited users at the time of renewal, whichever is higher. That way you can get the 20% discount on the full set of users.

Because you pre-pay for the year, any cancellations to your annual contract will not take effect until the end of the contract year. You can feel free to continue using Spoke during that time. You may cancel your contract by reaching out to us at support@askspoke.com.



FAQ:

How do you count invited users?

We count the total number of users that were invited to use Spoke during a given billing period. If you start the billing period with 10 users, delete 5 and invite 5 new users, we consider that to be 15 users for such billing period.

I deleted 10 users, what happens next?

Those 10 users count towards your invited users during the billing period that you deleted them. That’s because they were present during at least part of that billing period, and are therefore part of the subscription cost for that period. However, they won't be counted towards your bill for the next period. For example:

  • At the start of your billing period after your trial (beginning of Month 2), you have 20 users and 1 team, and are on the Starter pricing plan. You pay $20 (20 users x $1) for the upcoming billing period (Month 2).
  • On Day 14 of your billing period (Month 2), you delete 10 users. On your next invoice you pay $10 (10 users x $1) for the next billing period (Month 3).

Can I pay using something other than a credit card?

We're happy to accept a variety of payment methods. Please reach out to us using the chat on this page to learn more.

What happens if I cancel my subscription?

Firstly, we'd be sad to see you go—do reach out to us beforehand and we'd love to find a way to make Spoke work for your team and your budget.

That said, when you request to cancel your subscription, it will take effect at the end of the billing period (which you've already paid for). At that time, we'll also settle any overage charges based on new invited users during that billing period. You will not be able to add users after you set your subscription to cancel.

What happens when I upgrade my pricing plan?

If you upgrade your pricing plan (e.g. from Starter to Standard), you will gain access to your upgraded pricing plan's features right away.

Starting with your next invoice, you will be billed based on this upgraded pricing plan.

If you invite new users before your current billing period ends, those new users will be charged at this new upgraded price.

  • For example, if you have 20 users and 1 team at the time your trial ends, and are on the Starter pricing plan. You pay $20 (20 users x $1) for the upcoming billing period (Month 2).
  • On Day 14 of your billing period (Month 2), you upgrade to Standard. On your next invoice you pay $40 (20 users x $2) for the next billing period (Month 3).
  • If you had added 5 users on Day 20, you would have also seen an overage charge of $10 (5 added users x $2). Your invoice at the start of Month 3 would have been $50 ($40 + $10).

What happens when I downgrade my pricing plan?

If you downgrade your plan (e.g. from Plus to Standard), you will lose access to your current pricing plan's features right away.

Starting with your next invoice, you will be billed based on this downgraded pricing plan.

If you invite new users before your current billing period ends, those new users will be charged at this new downgraded price.

  • For example, at the start Month 2, you have 30 users and 5 team, and are on the Plus pricing plan. You pay $90 (30 users x $3) for the upcoming billing period (Month 2).
  • On Day 14 of your billing period (Month 2), you downgrade to Standard. On your next invoice you pay $60 (30 users x $2) for the next billing period (Month 3).
  • If you had added 10 users on Day 20, you would have also seen an overage charge of $20 (10 added users x $2). Your invoice at the start of Month 3 would have been $80 ($60 + $20).

More questions? Click the blue icon in the lower right. We’re happy to chat!


How did we do?